• IPXIII will take place in September 2021 - Venue to confirmed soon


David Warheit

Chemours Company


David B. Warheit graduated from the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor with a BA in Psychology.  He received his Ph.D in Physiology from Wayne State University School of Medicine in Detroit. Subsequently, he was awarded an NIH Postdoctoral Fellowship, and 2 years later, a Parker Francis Pulmonary Fellowship, both of which he took to NIEHS to study mechanisms of asbestos-related lung disease.  In 1984, he moved to DuPont Haskell Laboratory to develop a pulmonary toxicology research laboratory.

His major scientific research interests include pulmonary toxicological mechanisms and corresponding hazards/risks related to inhaled particulates, fibers and nanomaterials.  He is the author/co-author of  > 130 publications and has been the recipient of the ILSI Kenneth Morgareidge  Award (1993 – Hannover, Germany) for contributions in Toxicology by a Young Investigator and the Robert A. Scala Award and Lectureship in Toxicology (2000).  He has also attained Diplomat status of the Academy of Toxicological Sciences (2000) and the American Board of Toxicology (1988).

He has served on NIH study section review committees (NIH SBIR, NIH Bioengineering) and has participated on working groups at IARC, ECETOC, OECD, ILSI RSI and ILSI-HESI and the National Academy of Sciences, as well as several journal editorial boards – Inhalation Toxicology, Toxicological Sciences, Particle and Fibre Toxicology, Journal of Applied Toxicology, Critical Reviews in Toxicology and Nano Letters.

Recently he was the chairman of the ECETOC (European Centre for Ecotoxicology and Toxicology of Chemicals) Task force on “Health and Environmental Safety of Nanomaterials”, and formerly served on the National Academy of Sciences Committee to Develop a Research Strategy for Environmental, Health, and Safety Aspects of Engineered Nanomaterials; and presently on the NCTR Science Advisory Board; is a past President of the Nanotoxicology Specialty Section- (2010- 2011 – Society of Toxicology), and past member of the Society of Toxicology Program Committee (2009 – 2012).  Currently, he is a Technical Fellow at the Chemours Company.